If you wish to conduct research to validate a translated version, adapt the tool, or perform psychometric testing- please contact: j.hill@keele.ac.uk for permission AND read our Disclaimer for vital information



International STarTBack translations

ResearcherLevel of research Tool links
Raimundo A, Parraca JA, Batalha N, Tomas-Carus P, Branco JC, Hill J, Gusi N

narcis.gusi@gmail.com
Formal translationPortuguese version
Pierre Rocher

University of Kawzulu-Natal

pierre.roscher@gmail.com
Informal translation Afrikaans translation
Laura Simons, Elizabeth Carpino, Melissa Pielech, Deirdre Logan, Rachael Coakley, Jonathan Hill

Boston Children's Hospital, Boston, USA

Laura.Simons@childrens.harvard.edu
Formal translationAdaptation for children & adolescents PPST-with scoring

For children & adolescents to self-administer PPST - to self-administer

Elsabbagh L, Al-Atwi T, Aldossary D, Alshami AM, Hill JC, Abu-Ras W, Huijer HA-S, Brooks D. Cross-cultural adaptation and validation of the STarT Back Tool for Arabic speaking adults with low back pain in Saudi Arabia. Journal of Orthopaedic Science 2018
lina.elsabbagh@jhah.com
Formal translation and cross-cultural adaptationArabic translation
Link to article
Freddy Beretta Marcondes

freddy@iwmello.com.br
Formal translationBrazilian Portuguese translation
Nidia Espinoza Corvalán
(Dermofunctional Clinic Tobalaba), Claudia Gonzalez Fuster (Dermatofuncional Beauty Corp Clinic),
Catherine Torrealba Cornejo
(Emergency Hospital Public Assistance), Carolina Mera Moreira
(San Jose De Maipo Hospital Complex) - San Sebastián University

Luis Henriquez Fuentes (San Sebastián University) - Universidad de Chile

nespinozac@ussmail.cl
Informal translation Chilean Spanish translation
Calvin Kwan

kmhc313@gmail.com
Informal translation Chinese translation
Simeon Grazio

simeon.grazio@zg.t-com.hr
Informal translation Croatian translation
Hanne Albert and Lars Morsoe

Lars.Morsoe@slb.regionsyddanmark.dk
Formal translation
Patient face validity, Psychometrics
Danish translation
Link to article
Hanne Albert and Lars Morsoe

Lars.Morsoe@slb.regionsyddanmark.dk
Formal translation, Patient face validityDutch translation
So Teele Kaarma-Tonne
Tartu University Hospital
teele.kaarma@gmail.com
Formal translationEstonian translation
Jaro Karppinen

Jaro Karpinen@ttl.fi
Informal translation Finnish translation
Christophe Demoulin and Olivier Bruyere

Christophe.Demoulin@ulg.ac.be
Formal translation, Patient face validityFrench translation
Link to article
Bernhard Aebischer and Sven Karstens
Sven Karstens

s.karstens@hochschule-trier.de
Informal translation, Patient face validity, PsychometricsGerman translation
Link to article
Vicky Bills
Department of Physiotherapy, TEI of Western Greece

ebillis@teiwest.gr
Informal translationGreek translation
Azimi Parisa

parisa.azimi@gmail.com
Patient face validityLink to article-Persian
Department of Physiotheraoy, Faculty of Health Sciences, Ariel University

Noa Ben-Ami

djba@bezeqint.net
Informal translationHebrew translation
Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Birmingham,
University Hospitals of Birmingham NHS Trust

Dr Deepak Malik

deepak.malik@uhb.nhs.uk
Informal translationHindi translation
Krisztina Feövenyessy, Physiotherapist, Balance Gerincterápia

info@gerinc-terapeuta.hu
Informal translationHungarian translation
Firmansyah Purwanto, Physiotherapist, Klinik Halmahera Medika

fisiofirman@gmail.com
Informal translationIndonesian translation
Luca Scascighini

luca.scascighini@supsi.ch
Informal translationItalian translation
Peta-Ann Schmidt
University of Witwatersrand
paschmidt@mweb.co.za
Formal translationisiZulu translation
Mika Kawaguchi, Ko Matsudaira

Department of Medical Research & Management for
Musculoskeletal Pain,
22nd Century Medical and Research Center
University of Tokyo

mika_kawaguchi@jp-css.com
Formal translation, Patient face validity, PsychometricsJapanese translation
Link to article
Da-yeon, Kim

Korea Proprioceptive Neuromuscular Facilitation Association
Informal translationKorean translation
Shuo Luan, Chao Ma and Shaoling Wu
Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hospital (Primary sponsor), Boji Affiliated Hospital of Sun Yat-sen University and Central Hospital of Guangzhou Panyu District, China

15018761213@163.com
Formal translation, Patient face validityChinese (traditional) translation
Link to article
Trena YoungbluttInformal translationNepali translation
Ingvild Lie Indergaard

Margreth Grotle
Formal translation, Patient face validityNorwegian translation 6-items
Norwegian translation 9-items
Norwegian translation 5-items
Mohsen Abedi and S.J Mousavi

mohsenabedi110@yahoo.com
Formal translation, Persian translation
Adrian Chudyk

Research Institute for Primary Care and Health Sciences,
Keele University

a.chudyk@keele.ac.uk
Informal translationPolish translation
Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Birmingham,
University Hospitals of Birmingham NHS Trust

Dr Deepak Malik

deepak.malik@uhb.nhs.uk
Informal translationPunjabi translation
Vasiliy Tkachenko

tkachenkovd@yandex.ru
Informal translationRussian translation
Narcis Gusi and Borja del Pozo Cruz

borjadelpozo@unex.es
Formal translation,
Patient face validity
Spanish translation
Link to article
Carola Betten

cabe0036@student.umu.se
Formal translation,
Patient face validity
Swedish translation
Raghu Chovvath
Sri Ramachandra University,Chennai, India

chovvath@gmail.com
Informal translationTamil translation
Murat Dalkilinc
Turgut Ozal University, Ankara, Turkey

ptmurat@hotmail.com
Formal translation,
Turkish translation
Usman Arshad Siddiqi

Usman.Siddiqi@BOLTON.NHS.UK
Informal translation,
Patient face validity
Urdu translation
Rhian LewisInformal translationWelsh translation
Emmanuel EgbewaleInformal translationYoruba translation


Disclaimer

We are very grateful to our colleagues who have supplied translations. If they have formal qualifications as a translator we have described this as a formal translation. If the validity of the translated tool has been confirmed in a research setting this is also indicated. In the case of an informal translation the person supplying the translation does not have formal qualifications as a translator. As such, Keele University makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, as to the completeness, accuracy or reliability of the translated tool for any purpose. Any reliance you place on such translation is strictly at your own risk. In the event of any conflict between the English language version and the translated version, the English language version shall prevail. If you notice any inconsistency, please report it to us by contacting j.hill@keele.ac.uk

How to translate the Keele STarT Back Tool

Important: Do not begin a translation of the Keele STarT Back Tool into any foreign language/s until you have received written permission from the Versus Arthritis UK Primary Care Centre, UK to proceed with the translation

We recommend that anyone wishing to translate the Keele STarT Back Tool read the following: Recommendations for the Cross-Cultural Adaptation of Health Status Measures

Please follow the instructions in this document and forward any queries about translating the Keele STarT Back Tool, or new translations to:

 Jonathan Hill‌
Arthritis Research UK Primary Care Centre
Primary Care Sciences
Keele University
Staffs
UK
ST5 5BG
j.hill@keele.ac.uk
+44 (0)1782 73900
 
When using the tool please ensure the copyright and funding statement is maintained at all times.